Wellington Orienteering Association Reference Information

WOA Constitution

WOA Property

Competition Rules for the Frank Smith Interclub Trophy

The Frank Smith Trophy was donated by the Hutt Valley Orienteering Club for an interclub competition within the Wellington Association.

From 2001 the rules are:

These words were copied from Punch Sep 2001 and installed by on 11 Apr 02

On 19 Apr 02 the following clarification was added: Calculations are done for males and females separately on a course by course basis, not by grade. That is, with 8 courses, there are potentially 16 winners who get maximum points, and other runners' points are calculated relative to them. While not explicit in the orginal wording, this was the intention of the designer.

Competition Rules for the Interclub Relay Trophy

The original scheme having been lost in the mists of time, the following was agreed by a postal vote prior to the 2003 Relay Champs.

For the long the superseries point scale of 15-12-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1
For the short 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1

Not part of the 2003 vote but almost certainly buried in some prior decision somewhere, is that the relays are run in the classes for the NZ Relay Champs, see the NZOF rules. Teams not complying with the class requirements, or not all from the same WOA club, are ignored in the scoring.

This item installed by on 23 Oct 03.